Junk mail: It used to be a tree!

 

 

 

 

 

I love trees. I love them for the shade, for their beauty, for their ambiance, for the fruit, for cooling my house in the summer. Here is a beautiful tree the way God intended.

 My mail box I’m not so crazy about. It’s probably just like yours. Full of junk mail every day. When I got a 5 lb. Staples Office catalog today, I’d had it. I called to get myself removed from their mailing list. They said it would take 4 weeks and I still might get another one.

Every time I get the mail (i.e. 95% junk) I think “these used to be trees!”

 

 

This is a junk mail tree. Some artist’s attempt to be creative with all that garbage.

I like the first tree better.

I am trying to figure out how to recycle my paper. It’s not easy. We’re not in the city limits so they don’t pick it up. There’s only one place in town that takes paper and they have ‘conditions’. Not sure what they are yet, because I’m still carrying it around in my car in a plastic bag. The recycle place is on the other side of town and with gas at 3.89 where I live I’m not sure how the carbon footprint measure out.

After a bit of research I found a group that reduces the junk mail for you. Actually there’s a number of them, but this one has a really cool wiget. It’s called GreenDimes.com 

Has anyone used this service? There are 3 levels of ‘care’. One is free, so I’m thinking to give it a try. It’s been written up in the NY Times and Business Week, and featured on Ellen and Good Morning America. Here’s the basic idea. 

GreenDimes reduces credit offers, insurance offers, sweepstakes offers, coupon mailers, charitable solicitations and retail catalogs that your household receives. We can’t reduce mailings you receive as a result of a relationship you have with a company or organization. These include magazine subscriptions, bank statements, brokerage statements and school alumni mailings. Please contact those organizations directly to manage your mail with them.
 
Has anyone had any experience with GreenDimes or other services like this?
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sanjdimes
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 20:20:44

    GreenDimes here,

    Hm, hearing from GreenDimes itself probably isn’t that useful in your decision-making process. I can tell we get great ongoing testimonials and below are some links fm people who have used our service.

    Thanks for spreading the word! (btw, our widget is downloadable) Happy Earth Week!

    http://www.salon.com/mwt/good_life/2007/12/17/junk_mail/print.html

    http://www.sgvgreen.com/ (click on light bulb & scroll down)

    Reply

  2. rahmama
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 23:37:55

    Thanks for the response. I will check out the testimonials. Love the widget!
    Happy Earth Week back to you.

    Reply

  3. Robert
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 12:20:32

    Now where have I seen that photo of George Blakely’s junk mail trees before…

    http://stopjunkmailblog.blogspot.com/2007/10/junk-mail-trees.html maybe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

