What does a left-brain person do for fun?

Right brain vs. left brain test

This whirling dancer will spin both clockwise OR counter-clockwise depending on which side of your brain is most active. She will whirl for you if you double-click her.

This is an amazing visible detector of the right vs. left activity. It is so incredibly accurate. I can watch it spin one way, then when it seizes up, it might be going the other way. My brain flips back and forth with amazing speed these days. I guess this is good, since I need both sides in a big way. Just taking care of the nitty gritty elements of getting through a day of life require large chunks of my left brain.

LEFT BRAIN

Logical
Sequential
Rational
Analytical
Objective
Looks at parts

However, the writing process requires my right brain and I catch myself letting the “switch” flip when I have a moment to spare. I have to force my Left side to stay in gear, rather like a parent telling a child ‘finish your vegetables first, then you can have dessert.’

RIGHT BRAIN

Random
Intuitive
Holistic
Synthesizing
Subjective
Looks at wholes  

Why is being in my right brain is so relaxing? Why can I spend hours here, playing around, writing mostly and not get tired. I could never stay up ’til 2:00 a.m. entering receipt amounts in Quicken, or preparing a profit and loss statement for our accountant. I know there’s a good reason for this, but I’m wondering if naturally left-brained people feel that way about being in their element. I mean how does an accountant relax? What does an actuary do for fun?

Gosh, do they even blog? I’m starting to feel like meeting a truly Left-Brainer would be like a cross-cultural exchange.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kegger
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 16:20:49

    That’s odd–I was VERY close to posting that as an indication of whether you thought with your right brain or left brain along with the other quiz I posted, but then I decided not to. Even more unusual is that the other day when I looked at it, it was initially rotation clockwise until I concentrated and flipped it. Today when I initially looked at it, it was rotation counter-clockwise until I concentrated and flipped it. I wonder why that is. That makes me wonder if maybe sometimes I work more one side of my brain than I do the other.

    Reply

  2. rahmama
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 17:17:36

    I find this process and subject fascinating. As I pay attention to what I am doing I am noticing more which side is operating.
    I think both sides and all the sub categories in each take practice to develop. Since I’ve been writing a children’s book my right brain is definitely amped up.
    It’s interesting also to notice that I am better at flipping over to the side that needs to take charge of what I’m doing.

    Reply

  3. Dr. Tom Bibey
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 01:59:09

    As a Doc who plays music, I have to work off the correct side depending on the task at hand. I put the left to log-in when I write or play a show, and power it up again when I go back to the office.

    Dr. B

    Reply

  4. rahmama
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 05:48:51

    Dr. Tom:
    I like your terminology about logging in and out of the correct brain mode. Wish I could control my ‘channels’ better and be more disciplined in this.
    p.s. Wouldn’t you log-out of the left when you write or play music?

    Reply

  5. drtombibey
    May 01, 2008 @ 20:17:03

    Correct -that shoulda been log-out! I must not have been logged in. Dang!

    Dr. B

    Reply

  6. gary goodwin
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 19:13:34

    Is this dancer image from an optical illusion site or does it have some testing validity in psychology? Just wondering how you found it.

    Reply

  7. rahmama
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 20:18:09

    I don’t really know how it was created or if it’s had some scientific-type testing. All I know is that is changes directions for me and when I’ve been really left-brained from doing bookkeeping, it takes some effort to relax enough to let it swirl the other way.

    Pretty cool.
    Oh, it was sent to me from someone on a drawing forum I was on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

